banner image, students

Honor Societies

Honor Societies & Professional Associations

Norwich University, through a number of national and international honor societies, has a long history of providing recognition and support for the academic success of its students.

Honor Societies

Delta Mu Delta (International Business)

Delta Mu Delta is an international honor society in business that recognizes and encourages academic excellence in the business community through a lifetime membership. Norwich's charter is held by the undergraduate program, with the Master in Business Administration program joining it in 2013. To date, the Norwich chapter has 167 graduate members.

Advisors: Iphy Tanguay, itanguay@norwich.edu and Jose Cordova, jcordova@norwich.edu

Epsilon Pi Phi (Emergency Management, Criminal Justice)

This specialized honor society is for emergency management, homeland security, disaster research and science, criminal justice, and continuity management disciplines.

Advisor: Claire Robinson-White, crobins2@norwich.edu

Omicron Delta Kappa (Leadership)

Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society, is a lifetime membership that offers leadership training and development to members in every phase of their lives and careers. Norwich's circle was founded in June of 2015, and currently, membership is limited to graduating students in the Master of Science in Leadership program. The Membership “tapping” and application process takes place in January of your graduating year. The application review and voting process occurs in February with results announcements in March. The induction ceremony will take place during the June Residency Conference.

Advisors: Ashley Lopez, alopez3@norwich.edu and Jeremy Hodges, jhodges2@norwich.edu

Pi Alpha Alpha (Public Administration)

The purpose of Pi Alpha Alpha is to encourage and recognize outstanding scholarship and accomplishment in public affairs and administration.

Advisor: Claire Robinson-White, crobins2@norwich.edu

Pi Lambda Theta (Education)

Phi Lambda Theta is one of the most prestigious education honor societies. Norwich began a direct honors chapter in 2013 for its teaching and learning certificate program.

Advisor: Carol Spaulding, carols@norwich.edu and Mark Parker, mparker2@norwich.edu

Sigma Iota Rho (International Studies)

Sigma Iota Rho, the international studies honors society, promotes and rewards scholarship and service among students and practitioners of international studies, international affairs, and global studies to foster integrity and creative purpose in the conduct of world affairs. Norwich's chapter began in 2012 and to date, there are 206 members.

Advisor: Jennifer West, jwest@norwich.edu and Lasha Tchantouridze, ltchanto@norwich.edu

Upsilon Pi Epsilon (Computing and Information Disciplines)

Upsilon Pi Epsilon is the first and only, existing international honor society in the computing and information disciplines. The mission of UPE is to recognize academic excellence at both the undergraduate and graduate levels in the computing and information disciplines.

Advisor: Claire Robinson-White, crobins2@norwich.edu

SALUTE Veterans National Honor Society

SALUTE is an organization dedicated to honoring the academic achievements of those who currently serve or those who have served in our military, National Guard, or reserves. Membership is available to eligible bachelor's and master's students.
Undergraduate Application & FAQs 
Graduate Application & FAQs

Advisor: Judy Sassi, jsassi@norwich.edu

Professional Associations

International City/County Management Association (ICMA)

ICMA supports 10,000+ local government professionals worldwide, the communities they serve, and the profession they value.

Advisors: Claire Robinson-White, crobins2@norwich.edu

Order of the Engineer

The Order of the Engineer was initiated in the United States to foster a spirit of pride and responsibility in the engineering profession, to bridge the gap between training and experience, and to present to the public a visible symbol identifying the engineer.

Advisors: Kris Cameron, kcameron@norwich.edu and Tom Descoteaux, tdescote@norwich.edu

American Public Works Association (AWPA)

For over 75 years APWA's goal has been to promote professional excellence and public works awareness through education, advocacy and the exchange of knowledge.

Advisors: Claire Robinson-White, crobins2@norwich.edu